Governance | Management | Supervisory board | Board composition

The Supervisory Board has 12 members.

Eight members are elected by the shareholders for a term of one year. Four of these eight members are non-affiliated:

  • four members elected among the members of the Supervisory Board of TryghedsGruppen
  • four members are elected among candidates without affiliation with Tryg or TryghedsGruppen
  • four employee representatives  

The Supervisory Board deems that the number of Board members is adequate to ensure a constructive debate and an efficient decision-making process.

A balanced distribution with respect to gender, nationality and age is sought in the composition of the Supervisory Board. The members are aged between 45 and 67 years and there are seven female members.

To ensure replacement on the Supervisory Board, members elected by the shareholders may hold office for a maximum of nine years. Furthermore, the Board members must retire at the first general meeting following their 70th birthday.

Employee representatives
Under the Danish Companies Act, employees are entitled to elect a number of Board representatives equal to half the number of members elected by the shareholders at the time employee elections are held. Tryg has agreed with the Group’s staff organisations that two Board members are elected among the employees in Denmark, one in Norway and one in Sweden. Next ordinary election of employee representatives will be held in 2014. Pursuant to the applicable legislation, employee representatives have the same rights, duties and responsibilities as any other members of the Supervisory Board.

Board members' skills

Tryg has certain criteria when recruting board members. Read about the board members' skills.

Skills and composition of the Supervisory Board